Needle Felting on a Budget! Part 2 – The Color

When I started needle felting I tried all kinds of fiber! I bought craft wool from Michael’s, I bought dyed wool roving from Etsy, I tried ordering it cheaper through Amazon, I even attempted to use real Alpaca. It was all difficult to work with, and ridiculously expensive. I was never going to be able to make this a permanent hobby with these prices!

I spent a couple hours Part 2 - P1researching different types of fiber people use for felting, yet it always came back to wool. Luckily right near the moment I was going to give up, I ran across a video of girl using a cat scratcher to shred regular yarn for use in needle felting. It was a eureka moment! I have boxes of yarn! I tried the method, and… it worked!! You really need to really put force into it, but I only use yarn now, because it has worked better than wool for every project I wanted to make. You can watch the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ILcYAXf_bg

 

 

On a side note: When my girls were young they misheard me when I was using pillow stuffing, so from then until now they call it “fluffing” and I can’t bring myself to correct them. In fact, the yarn shredded into acrylic fiber is so soft and fluffy, I’ve ended up calling it fluffing as well!

One of the dragons I’ve made, for more photos click here: Teagan

Part 2 - P2 - feature

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Easy Cheap and Cheerful Needle Felting ––– A Free How To Series | Grow Sew Happy

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!