Mermaid Beach Blanket

A while ago I embroidered some mermaids onto blocks cut from an old fancy sheet I got at a yard sale, the mermaids are from the site Sweet November, here is how they turned out:

click on it to see closer detail

click on it to see closer detail

I was really unsure what to do with them, I knew from the start I wanted them incorporated into a beach blanket, but how? Eventually I just decided to go for it! I used some cotton gauze scraps leftover from my skirt sewing to make blocks, sewed it all up simple quilt style. For the backing I used a very large piece of plastic fabric (the kind you make diapers out of) because we have damp beaches here in Oregon :D, and edged it all in brown and black scraps of more cotton gauze. Crude, but effective, and kinda hippie ;)

beach blanet

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

