Summer Reading Chart

Our library’s summer reading program is sadly very lame, it’s just a half sheet of paper to write down the titles of 20 books you read, then you get a free book. Nothing like the awesome programs I had when I was a kid! On giant pieces of paper, and you got little prizes along the way! Oh! The fun of coloring in each stepping stone on the path to a new prize!! Even if the prize was just a sticker! And then you got a free book at the very end. So I wanted to create something exciting!

I began by combing Pinterest for ideas. I was thinking that I would make a chart then print two of them, and of course I’d have to find prizes that I could afford to buy two of… then I got this great idea from a blog post at Women Living Well to make it joint effort! If you have two children at different reading levels, make them one chart, then as a team they are working together to get prizes. Genius!

So I scrapbooked this chart, with all their favorite things! And, not only do they love the idea and the chart, they are actually using it!! Such FUN!

Side Note: I DO allow them to read to each other to mark off two books, because they are still participating in books.

Another Note: I remembered (after printing this chart, on giant 17 x 11 paper in color), that when I was a kid each stepping stone was 15 minutes, so I might lower the each book to 15 minutes instead of 30, depending on how slow filling in the chart is going, lol

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

