Little Felt Starfish

The little town of Seaside holds an annual treasure hunt around the city every summer. At the beginning of the summer they release nine picture clues with a matching written clue. If you enter the contest in the most creative way you can think of, you could win a paid vacation to Seaside for four! So I made a little seastar out of orange felt, we bought him a stick, and we took a photo of him with each clue so he was our little friend for our whole vacation while we searched for “treasure”!

Since the seastar is Seaside’s logo, I started researching felt seastars, and the one I loved best was at the blog While She Naps, that gave me the inspiration to do one with wavy arms instead of strait like when they are dried. I googled starfish outlines, and came across a pattern by Kid Spot, you can download it here: Starfish Pattern

I used the larger of the two patterns, cut one side out in orange felt, the other out of yellow felt, and added the eyes and mouth. I blanket stitched them together with orange embroidery floss, stuffing it as I went, and left a little hold near the bottom for the stick. Easy!

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

