2014 Garden – Day 5: Vermiculture

I happened to see worm farm PVC tubes on some website that I was browsing, and it stayed in the back of mind for a while before I really researched how to do it. Turns out, it’s simple!

I bought a couple three inch wide PVC pipes, they were precut to two foot long.
We drilled lots of holes in the bottom half of the pipes, then buried them about a foot in the ground.
I bought $1 plates from goodwill to put on top of them, and done! The little bird statue is from the dollar store.
We’ve already started tossing in the smaller compost scraps for the worms, and I like the ease of knowing that we are feeding garden worms without having to maintain a worm farm bin.

This is an great visual video of how this type of composting works around plants:

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. John

     /  June 6, 2014

    what a fantastic adaptation on that Garden Tower project…well done! I may have to follow suit. I use a composting service here in Raleigh and am able to request composted soil back from them, but I really like this idea!

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  June 6, 2014

      Love the idea of a composting service! and so far i’m liking my garden worm/composters :)

      Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

