2014 Garden – Day 2: Burlap Grow Sacks

I looked for old burlap bags, but could not seem to find any locally, and the ones to order online were not cost effective for me. So, I bought the cheapest burlap at Joann’s, and used a 40% off coupon to make it nearly $2 a yard. Then:

1. Cut the yards into twenty inch pieces, so they are 20 inch by 48 inch
2. Sew up the side to form a tube.

You could stop there, however even though I wanted an open bottom ‘bag’, I also wanted the dirt to be able to hold the bag in place, so sewed only the bottom corners of the bag, about three inches in on each side.

Also, I like the rolled down look at the top of the bag, but was having a hard time keeping the top of new burlap rolled, so I tacked it down in all four ‘corners’ of the bag.

So, while crude but effective, this was the neat result!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. John

     /  June 3, 2014

    what a fantastic idea! I have a decent sized garden, but still not huge….this would be a great way to save space and plant my cukes in them.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  June 3, 2014

      So far I’m loving the burlap sacks, also, I read somewhere that they should last about two growing seasons, then you can compost them! :)

      Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

