Fabric Paint. A whole new world!

I’ve really love the unique look of painted fabric, however I’ve been too timid to try for a long time. After reading Alabama Channing’s books, and seeing the way she paints fabric, I began researching it again the other day, really meaning to do it this time. I spent a dreadfully long boring hour looking at stencils at JoAnn’s and eBay that clearly had not been updated since the 1990’s, they all looked so blah and drab, I just could not stand it, so I moved on and kept searching styles of fabric painting. When I came across a blog article at Craft Critique, I realized that I’m not bound by typical store bought stencils, and suddenly remembered that the wonderful point of Chain’s chapter on stenciling was that she made her own! And that is something that I can easily do with Photoshop, so I got to work! I tried out of the stencils on a simple black skirt, and it turned out okay, I think you used the wrong brush, but more practice and I think I’ll get it, I’m just getting started!!

Here is a free pattern download: Stenciled Skirts Patterns

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. You might already know this but freezer paper makes for a great template material! You print a design on it, cut it out and then iron on the freezer paper to your fabric – so much easier than card/paper that keeps moving about!

    http://crafts.tutsplus.com/tutorials/how-to-make-freezer-paper-stencils–craft-1838

    Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

