Photo to Pencil Drawing with Photoshop

I saw a really cute scrapbook page, with just the outline of a child’s face blended with a scrapbook paper. It was too cute, I just had to try it! I’ve never had much luck with the technique of turning a photo into a drawing, so looked on you tube for a few different ways, the best one I found was here: Turn a Photograph Into A Drawing | Photoshop CS5 Tutorial
Using Photoshop CS:
Duplicate Background
Ctrl & Shift + U
Duplicate Layer
Press: Ctrl + I (to invert it)
Change blend mode to: Color Dodge
(will look all white)
Go to Layer, Smart Objects
Click on Convert to Smart Object
Go to Filter, Blur, Motion Blur
Set to: Angle 34 and Distance 387
Duplicate the middle Layer, put layer on top
Go to Filter, Stylize, Glowing Edges
Set to: Edge Width 1,
Edge Bright 16, Smoothness 15
Press: Ctrl + I (to invert it)
Change blend mode to: Multiply
Go to Layer, New Adjustment Layer,
Level, and set:
Black input to 12, Midpoint to .8

When I was finished turning the photo into a pencil drawing I flattened it and dragged it my scrapbook page. I changed the blending mode of it until I found the perfect one to match my papers (which are also blended), and added the rest of the elements of the page. I don’t think it looks much like my usual scrapbooking, but then it’s really fun to do something so different, and I LOVE how it turned out!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

