Focus on Food Essays and Recipes – Part 4

In 2012 I created a series of ‘essays’, which I scrapbooked and included in our family photo album to chart the changes we were making in our life then. For 2013 I did the same thing, but our focus has shifted slightly. We’ve done all we can at the moment to alter our behaviors when it comes to using too much electricity, or chemicals around the house, or simplifying life, so last year our whole focus was on food, and trying different ways of eating until we found one that stuck. So here is Part Four of the Seven Part series…

As we’ve been muddling through new recipes, new flavors, new styles of cooking, we have not been totally successful, falling back on our old patterns of eating when all this newness becomes overwhelming. As a family we agree that when we eat plant based we all feel strong, more energetic, and generally happier. So we decided to recommit over the summer, especially with all the fresh seasonal food choices available. We also discovered something called Raw Till 4, meaning 4pm, it’s a way to get much of the benefits of eating a raw lifestyle, but still have a hot comforting familiar vegan dinner. It’s something that I’ve maintained for three weeks this month, and hope to continue through the summer. “Why go raw? Heat changes the molecular structure of foods, rendering nutrients mostly unusable. Cooked and otherwise denatured or processed food is less digestible than raw food…Biologically-appropriate raw food provides all the nutrients that the body requires, as it does for all the other species of animals on the planet.”

These are the lyrics of my current favorite power song to get me through the cravings:
Something has changed within me, Something is not the same, I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game, Too late for second-guessing, Too late to go back to sleep, It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes: and leap! It’s time to try Defying Gravity, I’m through accepting limits, ’cause someone says they’re so
Some things I cannot change, But till I try, I’ll never know!, Defying Gravity from the musical Wicked

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

