Spring Time Hat!


My daughter recently asked me to make her a new hat, so she picked out the yarn, and I got started. I was going to make an earflap hat like I’ve done in the past, and I had it nearly finished, when I decided that she needed a different look, not only because she is growing up, but because spring is coming! So I took apart all my work and started from scratch. I made this pattern based on a conversation that I had on the train with another crocheter, and I LOVE how it turned out!

Ready for Spring Brimmed Hat
This pattern made a good hat for my almost eight year old.
Warning – I used VERY chunky yarn, and I crochet loosely.
Yarn Used: Deborah Norville Serenity Chunky Yarn
Hook Size: H hook
Round 1. Ch 4, join to form loop, ch 3, 11 dc in loop, join
Rounds 2 – 6. Ch 3, 2 dc in same stitch, *skip next dc, 3 dc in next dc* repeat from * to end, join at end.
Rounds 7 – 8. Ch 3, 2 dc in same stitch, *skip next two dc, 3 dc in next dc* repeat from * to end, join at end.
Round 9 – 10. Ch 1, sc in each st around, join at end
Round 11. Ch 2, dc in each st around, join at end
Here is where it gets tricky to make the slight bill/brim, bear with me…
Round 12. Ch 1, sc in next 22 st, in next st *3 dc, skip 1 stich* repeat from * 6 times, sc in remaining 22 st
Round 13. Slip stich in each sc to bill, work a sc in each dc stich, then slip stich the remainder around.
Weave ribbon through the double crochets from round 11, a tie the ends into a bow near the front

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. That is super cute. Have a great weekend.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  March 7, 2014

      I’m glad you like it! Hope you have a wonderful weekend too :)

      Reply
  2. what a cutie!

    Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

