Learning to Fly

As part of Fit & Prepared year for our family, we’ve planned for a long time to get bikes, which is a fun plan in theory, but I don’t know how to ride a bike. I was never allowed while growing up, because I distinctly remember being told that a car would hit me and I’d die.

As terrified as I am of this inevitable fate, I searched all the stores for a bike that would fit my small frame, I finally had to resort to a youth bike, and everyone agreed that was the best size for me. When it was finally time to learn I almost said never mind, no thank you, I’d like to keep my feet on the ground where they belong… but I’d worked so hard to get this bike… and I had to try… so, to see my progress watch the one minutes video of me below, the song choice is predictable but fitting.

If you are just learning to ride, or ready to teach someone, the best tip that I got from one of the bike shops is to coast at first. Simply push off with your toes, then let momentum carry you as far as you will go to learn balance, and practice catching yourself before you tip over. I did this off and on throughout my very intense hour and half lesson, and I believe that it helped a lot!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Kristine John

     /  February 18, 2014

    I’m SO stinking proud of you! That’s a HUGE accomplishment. I LOVE my bike (and wear my helmet religiously too!) There is a wonderful freedom that comes from being able to feel the wind in your face. Enjoy.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  February 18, 2014

      Thanks!! It was months of mentally preparing myself to attempt something so scary to me, all while searching for the right sized bike – but in the end I managed it! I’m looking forward to a possible day when I’ll be confident enough on the bike to lose the last of my fear, so I can simply enjoy the ride! :)

      Reply
  2. Way to go Star!! I still remember as a child learning how, and it IS terrifying… Great job of persistence!! Your family will get so much joy from this activity!! :-)

    Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

