Food Dispensing Cat Toy

A long time ago I read an article about how cats need to be allowed to hunt for their food, using purchased or homemade food dispensing toys, and I’ve always been intrigued by the idea. You can read more about that here: The Benefits of Using Puzzle Feeders for Cats

My cats already like to chew and play with yarn since I’ve made yarn cat toys before, so I freehanded this on the train yesterday… when I got home and pulled it from my backpack my hubby stated the obvious. “That looks like a turd.” I do agree, the choice of color was unfortunate, however it was just scrap yarn I grabbed as I left the house to catch the train.

Although this worked exactly as I wanted it to, I plan to make a new one when I have time again, in a different color, and perhaps a lot less tapered…. In the meantime, here is the pattern I came up with:

Food Dispensing Cat Toy

Stick
R1: ch 3, join to form loop, ch 1, 5 sc in loop, join
R2: ch 1, 2 sc in each sc around, including 1st ch 1
(crochet rows 1 and 2 tightly, as these will be the food holder)
R3 – R13: place marker, 1 dc in each stich around
R14: *1 dc, 1 invisible dc decrease*, repeat from * around
R15 – R20: 1 triple crochet in each stich around
R21: 1 dc, 1 hdc, 1 sc, sc in each stich around
R22: *1 sc, 1 invisible sc decrease*, repeat from * around

Food Cage
Ch 3, join to form loop, Ch3, 4 triple crochet, leave a long tail

To Attach
Use your thumb to push in the top of the stick to row 4 (to form a small hollow)
Use the long tail of the food cage to sew it over the top of the hollow.

To Use
Push piece of cat food or treats through the triple crochet ‘bars’.
Leave one piece half out, then get your cat’s attention by letting him sniff it.
My cat loved it! He was playing with it all night to get a snack when he was hungry.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. creative pixie

     /  January 7, 2014

    I should make this for my cats. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  January 7, 2014

      cats are so fickle about their toys, but my cat is happy about this one! I’ll redo it for sure though, I thought he’d hold it with his front and back feet like he does some other yarn toys to chew on them, but instead he likes to pounce onto the front of this where the food is, so I think i’ll shorten it by half and put the ‘food cage’ on both ends… yay for crochet!! :D

      Reply
      • creative pixie

         /  January 7, 2014

        My cats love to play with the crochet pumpkins i made back at Halloween (I posted a pattern on my blog if you’d like to check it out). It’s funny watching them as the fling it up in the air and catch it. I also find it sweet that they carry it about with them sometimes.

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

