Jalapeno Peppers – A Cautionary Tale

My eyes burning, I mean on freakn’ fire, I stood under the shower spray, face upturned, and wondered how I had come to this. It all started when I saw a recipe for Taquitos at one of my new favorite blogs Naturally Ella. I’m a sucker for Taquitos, they are just the tastiest little snacks ever! So when I saw this potentially dairy and gluten free variety, I HAD to try it. I hesitated over the jalapeno pepper, but I optimistically thought “Now or Never!!” and added it to my shopping list. To make a long story short, I cut up the pepper, cooked the mixture, and started filling the tortillas when my hair fell forward, I pushed it back and in the process my left hand brushed my eyelid…OW! OW OW OUCH! Immediately I was in pain, burning searing pain in my eyelid! I very stupidly touched it again, with the same hand, with the vague idea of getting the pain to go away, and it became ten times worse! I slid to the floor, grabbing a kitchen towel and pressing it over my eye. That eased the pain slightly, so I stumbled to the computer and did a quick internet search. Apparently milk was supposed to help, but is unavailable in a vegan household. Another blogger said to run water over your eye until you can open it easily. I ran to the bathroom to try to awkwardly put my face under the tap, when that failed. I stripped and jumped into the shower before it warmed up, not caring that the water was ice cold I let the water hit me full in the face for almost ten full minutes, sputtering and gasping for breath, but unable to do anything else until the pain eased. Eventually I regained enough composure to continue making dinner, but in the end it was too spicy for any of us to enjoy. Also, my left hand, that I used to hold down the pepper while I cut it, began to burn. A couple weeks ago I accidentally brushed a hot cookie sheet with my thumb, and that same burning pain is now what I felt all over my whole hand. I searched again for what to do, the ideas were varied (how-to-get-rid-of-jalapeno-burns), I tried a few, but the only thing that really helped was time. My conclusion? Use rubber gloves to cut the peppers, or better yet, skip the dratted things altogether. That is what I’ll do next time I make this recipe.

Adapted from Naturally Ella’s – Baked Black Bean Taquitos

Black Bean Taquitos
Makes 12 pieces
2 cloves garlic
1 small jalapeno
1/4 tablespoon sunflower oil
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 can black beans
1 can refried beans, no lard
16 corn tortillas
Salsa Verde
1 avocado, smashed together with a little lemon juice

1. In a sauce pan, stir together all ingredients except the tortillas, cook until beans are heated through, about five minutes.
2. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 425˚, and cover a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper. (Optional: Spray with cooking spray)
3. Taking one corn tortilla at a time, place on the baking sheet and scoop one spoonful of black bean filling. Roll tight and place seam side down on the pan, pressed up next to each other. Repeat until all the filling is used. (Optional: Brush tops with oil)
4. Bake for 12-15 minutes until the corn tortilla is a light brown color. Dip in salsa verde, and mashed up avocado.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I was looking at methods of preserving peppers today and one of the recipes said wear gloves and afterward “be mindful of what you touch, like babies.” I thought, wow that would be the worst! Of course, touching your own eye has to be right up there. Sorry, that’s really a painful learning experience.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  November 21, 2013

      yep, this was a very painful learning curve! Whew, I’m glad I didn’t get any pepper juice on the girls!! It’s silly, I didn’t think to research these peppers or do anything special, I knew they tasted spicy, but I just assumed that I could cut them up like bell peppers! :D

      Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

