My attempt to beat daylight savings fatigue!

I grew up in Arizona, the only state that I know of that doesn’t participate in the madness that is daylight savings time. So when I arrived in Oregon in the Spring, and my new boss gave me the heads up to change all my clocks, I was confused, but complied. It was not until I was overwhelmed with fatigue the next day that I really researched this stupid practice. There are all kinds of reasons that are floating out there about why we must suffer the interruption of our sleep patterns, but who knows the real reasons. Anyhow, every spring since that first one I’m exhausted for two weeks as my body adjusts to the new schedule, and So! This year I made a plan! I would change my clocks, but I will NOT change my sleep schedule! The only way I can remember which way to change my clocks is the chant “Spring Forward, Fall Back”, so when I falled back this fall, I changed the clocks, but got up an “hour early”, which means my usual internal clock time… and when I spring forward in spring, I will change the clocks, and simply get up normally. I can’t wait to see how this goes!

I LOVE this… so true…

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. lundygirl

     /  November 4, 2013

    hi, here in Britain we changed the clocks a week ago and I am only just getting back to normal! love the quote.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  November 4, 2013

      I didn’t know that Britain also had Daylight Savings Time, thanks for sharing! I just can’t stand the changing times, after almost four years here it still makes no sense to me, lol! I’m glad you are finally feeling normal again :D

      Reply
  2. Rene

     /  November 4, 2013

    It makes no sense. Plus, very annoying when you have kids (as I do!)–their internal clocks aren’t going to magically switch any more than ours will. :P

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  November 4, 2013

      Exactly! it was so hard watching my kids go through it! so they will be on the same schedule as me, and it will be nice to have extra time to get them ready for school in the morning through the winter. :)

      Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

