Oatmeal, a Rediscovery

While my brother was visiting he wanted to make oatmeal, I told him I can only make instant, and he told me I’m a disgrace to mankind, or something of the like. I used to love oatmeal, I’d whip it up for any reason, there was one year awhile back that I ate it every morning for breakfast, with a good dollop of brown sugar mixed in. However, since I actually didn’t know how to make oatmeal without the handy little packets and a microwave (and we don’t own a microwave anymore), my nice brother patiently taught me to make it on the stove. And it was easy!! One cup of oatmeal boiled in two cups of water, and you are there!

This is the family’s new favorite meal/snack, and as long as there is a good mixture of sweet fruit, I’m not even tempted to go back to brown sugar… well not very much…

Here is our version of our favorite oatmeal recipe so far:

Chocolate Oatmeal
Serves 4

2 cups gluten free rolled oats
2 cups almond milk
2 tsp. vanilla
2 banana, sliced thinly
2 TBSP. chocolate or carob powder
3 apple, chopped into very small squares

In a saucepan combine 2 cups of oats, 2 cups of almond milk, and 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium, cook for about eight minutes, stirring frequently. Add vanilla, bananas, and powder. Stir well. Cook for several more minutes, or until desired consistency, do not overcook. Top with bits of apple.

You can find the original recipe here, at one of my favorite sites: Clean Eating Chelsey

(This was sort of a “lost post”, I’m meant to share this around the beginning of September, and it got misplaced, lol!)

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

