Christmas Gift Planning

As any crafter knows, christmas gift planning is a yearlong endeavor. Planning/finding patterns, gathering supplies during sales, finding spare moments to sew unnoticed by the recipient, it’s hard work! I usually get too busy to start until July, but this summer has been rather hectic, especially the last month, and now I find myself in autumn with only half baked christmas plans! Yikes!!

I have a few crochet toys that I know I want to make, so I’ll start with those, and post them as I finish them. In the meantime, I thought I’d share a Christmas gift from last year that took quite a bit of my time.

The collaged photo is scans of the seven set kitchen towels that I made for my mom last year. My sister had the idea, seven ‘day-of-the-week’ towels, each one different, with a pansy flower theme. My sisters paid for the towels, and I did the work, so it was a group gift. It was quite a project, from google searching all the elements, digitally scrapbooking them together, tracing them into the pattern I was envisioning, then tracing them again with an iron on pencil, then embroidering them onto the loose weave flour sack towels that I mom prefers (over the firm flower sack towels that are much easier, and faster, to embroidery on). It was large task to take on, but if you decide to use any of the patterns, at least the work is half done for you! Download the patterns here: Pansy Embroidery Towel Patterns

And I wish you luck on planning for this year! Less than three months to Christmas!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Love this gift idea! Handmade is always so special.

    Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

