Wheat-free Menu: Week Three

Before reading this post, read my post: Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis
And this post: Wheat-free Menu Week One & Two

I thought I had enough recipes, but I guess I didn’t realize how much I was still relying on wheat, and it’s so hard to find recipes! If I find a gluten free recipe, it has dairy. If I find a gluten free and dairy free recipe, it has meat. If I find a gluten free, dairy free, meat free recipe, then the food is packed full of tofu and other soy products. All I’m looking for are plant based and whole food recipes! I feel like they should be there, the internet has never ever failed me before! Suddenly when I changed my search parameters, I was finding good stuff! I changed the search from dairy free wheat free whole foods recipes to gluten free vegan recipes -tofu
These are the few gluten free vegan sites I’ve found that don’t rely too heavily on soy products, and I’m enjoying perusing these sites for ideas and recipes:
Clean Eating Chelsey http://cleaneatingchelsey.com/recipes/
Allyson Kramer’s http://www.allysonkramer.com/
Almost Raw Vegan http://almostrawvegan.com/category/recipes-2/
Forks Over Knives http://www.forksoverknives.com/category/recipes/
Naturally Ella http://naturallyella.com/special-diets/

These are too complex for everyday cooking, but they are giving me great ideas for holidays and other special occasions:
Oh She Glows http://ohsheglows.com/categories/recipes-2/food-allergies/gluten-free/
Quirky Cooking http://quirkycooking.blogspot.com/search/label/vegan

So, our wheat free experiment lasted three weeks. The girls’ school threw us a curve ball, and as a family we all had a very stressful week. Wheat has always been my go-to food in stressful times, and with the school situation out of hand I snapped, and we had a Family Pizza Night. Gluten free experiment is over for now.

The first couple of weeks I was not interested in losing weight, using small amounts of chocolate, and fries, to get through what I knew would be inevitable cravings. The third week, back on a normal menu plan, I lost four pounds in a week, but was that due to being on a low-fat plant based diet while cutting out the last bits of occasional sugar/fat? Or from cutting out wheat? Both? I just don’t know. I may try again, or I may just stop trying to force the issue, and let wheat fade away over the course of a year like I did for meat. Only time will tell.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Both week one and two I was using the potato heavy menu that I created for the occasion. This third week I put together a regular menu, which you can download here:

Daily Meal Plan with Recipes: 20130906 – Meal Plans – with recipes

Matching meal plans with shopping lists for family of four: Meal Plans-Lists
(Note the three tabs in the excel file, one is a blank shopping list, one is a tally shopping list of what is needed for the week, with the summary of the week’s meals, I cut it off the top and put it on the fridge.)

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

