Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis

Spent another week on the train reading instead of sewing, I just finished rereading Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis, and I really focused on it this time. I’ve read some reviews of this book that say it’s too extreme in its suggesting that we remove wheat, this “amazing staple food”, from our diet. These reviewers quote Aristotle, calling for “moderation in all things”… though Aristotle was probably not dying of the obesity caused by the Standard American Diet when he said that… imagine if the USDA suddenly added arsenic to the food pyramid, does moderation in all things include things that will poison us? It’s being proven that dairy, meat, and wheat are poisoning us, yet people are still saying, “well, we must eat these foods in moderation, the USDA says we need them.” The mission of the U.S. Department of Agriculture is to promote agribusiness, so for them to be in position to tell us what to eat is a conflict of interest.

I believe that most people, given the choice between going dairy/meat/wheat free, or taking medications with horrible side effects, would choose health over managing symptoms. Also I don’t put much faith in “studies” on one topic or another, every clinical study can be skewed, and while many books are saying that dairy/meat/wheat are poisons because of this test or that study of participants, they are also saying that dairy/meat/wheat are poisons because we’ve seen thousands of people cure their own diseases by avoiding these foods… and what I do believe in is what I can see and feel. And I see that people who remove wheat from their diet are losing weight, and losing diseases. And I feel better, more energy, and less irritable on the days that I eat less dairy/meat/wheat. And so reading this book again, I feel very strongly that what I’m reading is truth, from what I see and feel, this makes sense. This is a quote from the book Wheat Belly:

“People who eliminate wheat from their diet typically report improved mood, fewer mood swings, improved ability to concentrate, and deeper sleep within just days to weeks. I’ve personally experienced these effects and also witnessed them in thousands of people.”

I definitely suggest getting a copy from your library and reading this lifesaving info for yourself! The best takeaway from books like Wheat Belly, or 80/10/10, is that the western diseases are preventable, diabetes, asthma, heart disease, obesity, depression, ibs, hypertension, cancer, allergies… they don’t have to happen to us. We don’t have to grow old and sick and die. We can simply grow old and die, without most of the debilitating sickness that has become common. It’s almost good to be true, almost too wonderful that we can eat ourselves to heath, but I’ve decided to believe.

 

Here are some more of my favorite bits from the book Wheat Belly:

“The consequences of wheat consumption, however, are not just manifested on the body’s surface; wheat can also reach deep down into virtually every organ of the body, from the intestines, liver, heart, and thyroid gland all the way up to the brain. In fact, there’s hardly an organ that is not affected by wheat in some potentially damaging way.”

“No demographic has escaped the weight gain crisis…. …Many overweight people, in fact, are quite health conscious… …[wheat has] come to dominate our diets. For most Americans, every single meal and snack contains foods made with wheat flour. It might be the main course, it might be the side dish, it might be the dessert – and it’s probably all of them.”

“In fact, apart from the detergent and soap aisle, there’s barely a shelf that doesn’t contain wheat products. Can you blame Americans if they’ve allowed wheat to dominate their diets? After all, it’s in practically everything.”

“An interesting fact: Whole wheat bread increases blood sugar as much as or more than table sugar.”

“For many the idea of removing wheat from the diet is psychologically painful…. … the process can indeed have uncomfortable side effects akin to withdrawal from cigarettes of alcohol.”

“So why has this seemingly benign plant that sustained generation of humans suddenly turned on us? For one thing, it is not the same grain our forebears ground into the daily bread. It was changed dramatically in the past fifty years under the influence of agricultural scientists.” (much more about this in the book)

“[In this chapter] I will discuss why wheat is unique among foods for its curious effects on the brain, effects shared with opiate drugs.”

“Wheat, in fact, nearly stands alone as a food with potent central nervous system effects. Outside of intoxicants, wheat is one of the few foods that can alter behavior, induce pleasurable effects, and generate a withdrawal syndrome upon its removal.”

“In effect, wheat is an appetite stimulant: it makes you want more… …[of] both wheat-containing and non- wheat-containing foods.”

“Weight grew at the fastest pace once the USDA and others got into the business of telling Americans what to eat. I meet plenty of people who tell me that they follow “official” nutritional guidelines seriously, avoid junk foods and fast foods, exercise an hour every day, all while continuing to gain and gain and gain. The cornerstone of all their nutritional directives? “Eat more healthy whole grains”.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. William Davis is suspect and is spreading unfounded confusion. Refined wheat (white stuff) and sugar are the prime culprits. Your body won’t thank you if you give up a nutritious diet

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  September 18, 2013

      I saw your recent blog post about the book Wheat Belly, and I agree to some extent, however, I believe that for me and a lot of other people, taking wheat out does help, because I’ve always been wheat sensitive. I had already started removing wheat from my diet before I read Wheat Belly. Anything with wheat made me very sick when I was child, as a teenager I could eat some it and only have slight effects in health, but the last few years I’ve become almost intolerant of it. I haven’t been allergy tested, but it is obvious that when I eat wheat my body has immediate bad responses to it that most other people don’t seem have. I have similar problems with dairy. As much as I’d love to be an ethical vegan, I’m forcing myself to change because my body is requiring it of me. I do appreciate you letting me know your concerns, and I agree that for normal people the information in Wheat Belly is perhaps a little exaggerated, but he is getting the message out to people who may not have realized that they are wheat intolerant, and I do approve of that :)

      Reply
      • I agree as well that there are people who have digestive problems and in these cases, eliminating wheat may be in order. :)

        I covered this point in “Wheat is not satan.” My hairs are raised by his claims that “everybody” should shun wheat, in particular the language he uses to do this.

  1. My Own Wheat Belly | Grow Sew Happy
  2. Wheat-free Menu Week Three | Grow Sew Happy

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

