Where’s the Figs?

Some of our figs are Finally RIPE!! When we moved into our new house last April, our new neighbor came over to introduce themselves, and gave me the greatest news! We have a fig tree in our side yard!! Within a couple weeks the leaves and figs began to bloom, amazing!

I briefly read up on fig trees, quick warning if, like me, you’ve never been around a fig tree before now: an unripe fig leaks a white substance out of the top of its stem, which can cause a rash so bad it creates boils on some people. Eek! Gloves are recommended when picking figs, because even if you plan on harvesting ripe figs, an unripe fig may getcha.

Also on my search I learned that some figs have two crops, since our fig tree started so soon, I thought for sure it would be one of these magical two crop trees, then I read this: Fig trees produce two crops every year, but only one of them may be edible. The first crop, called the breba crop, occurs relatively early in the year on the previous year’s growth. These fruits are frequently small, acidic and inferior in texture, but may be useful for preservation. The second crop occurs later in the year on the current year’s growth and these figs should be edible. Found Here: Home Guides

When an entirely new batch of baby figs started growing, and the first figs were not showing any signs of growing or ripening, I’d pretty much lost hope that our tree was a double producer, must be that darned “breba crop” I thought. Until, suddenly, the figs ripened! Here is a pic of the first three ripe figs from that crop that began growing in April, YAY!!!

Final Note: I learned through youtube videos that the easiest way to open a fig is to pinch the bottom with both hands and pull it apart, they are sooooo tasty!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I don’t think I have ever had fresh figs, I have always eaten them dried. Is it different?

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  August 13, 2013

      I’ve never had a dried fig, however while my brother came to visit was when the very first fig ripened, and he said that “these fresh figs taste NOTHING like a dried fig!”
      I’m planning to dehydrate some of the crop to have them over winter, and I’m interested to find out what the dried figs will taste like ;)

      Reply
      • Interesting. Most of the figs we get here come from… Turkey, I think. I’ll have to find somebody with a fig tree, I know they can grow here. Thanks!

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

