WATER FIGHT!

I had this epiphany at the beginning of summer, and have just now got around to making it. Summer hit and I really wanted to have a water balloon fight with my girls. On three separate occasions I almost purchased a thick plastic nozzle with a ton of little tiny plastic bits that would eventually be easy to burst water balloons… the height of summer happiness from my childhood. Before the plastic nozzle/balloon pack (also packaged in plastic) made it to the cashier, I’d picture the post water-balloon-fight plastic mess, all that plastic waste that I would be responsible for loosing into the world. The third time I almost bought the nozzle/balloon pack, I noticed nearby a very small net with a cardboard top advertising water bombs. Inside the neat non-plastic packaging were several cloth balls with stuffing inside them. Epiphany moment! Mixed with a little bit of duh! This way totally makes sense for many reasons!! With a cloth water bomb fight you don’t have all that pesky filling water balloon boredom. You don’t have to buy new balloons for each game, anytime you want to splat someone with water, grab a handy cloth ball. And best of all – no plastic waste.

Water Bombs
I went with a very simple way to make them, since I didn’t care how they looked, and I wanted my girls to be able to help.
1. Pull out your scraps that are too small to use for anything else. Shoddily cut them into square-ish or rectangle-ish shapes.
2. Cut a length of sewing string or embroidery floss about 10 inches long. For embroidery floss only use two strands. Thread it on a sharp needle, or embroidery needle.
3. Sewing a running stich along the outside of your scrap, tugging gently as you go to make the top gather.
4. When you are nearly finished, shove some stuffing in, then continue the running stitch around to the end.
5. Pull the string tight, and push the ruffled top into the middle of the ball, sew the edges shut. Hope that makes sense.
6. Make a whole bunch, toss them into a bucket in the middle of the ‘playing field’, make a rule that as you go in for another bomb take one back with you, so that it can soak for the next person. When set, grab one soggy cloth bomb and lob it at someone to start a WATER FIGHT!

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

