Happy Birthday to Me.

Today is my birthday, I’m still in my late 20’s, and the birthday gifts I’m receiving this year are the only ones I want; to spend time with people I love. I already had my official ‘party’ when my brother came for a visit last week, and of course the only reason to have an official party is eat birthday cake, YUM!

The gift I’m giving myself is one that I’ve been working on for a while. To let me be myself. To stop trying to fit in to the society around me, and just be me. There are many things I’m changing about myself, or my lifestyle, or my family, and over the last year, through reading books and blogs of other urban homesteaders, it’s nice to realize there are many people who, like me, are trying to simplify their life and reconnect with nature. I’ve gained many insights and ideas, one of which is going barefoot. When I first read about ‘going barefoot’, I of course loved the idea, having gone barefoot around the house all my life, but this was different, this was going barefoot Everywhere. I was shy about it at first, but now, as weather allows, I am almost constantly barefoot… at home, on the way to work, on the train, at work, on the way home, on the bus, on the way to stores, on our family evening walks. It took a while to build up the endurance of my soft feet, but it was worth it. Barefeet is only one way that I’m breaking out of the mold of this culture of consumers, but it’s the most visible one. I continue to learn and grow, challenging the ideas that we were raised with, something I hope that we can all do, turning away from the culture of big business and turning toward the values of a humbler and greener society.

While on this note of barefoot, I made these barefoot ‘sandals’ from a free pattern I saw here: Bohemian Barefoot Sandals . For the girls’ I didn’t crochet the last row, shortened the ties for their shorter legs, and free handed a crocheted flower to attach to the toe loop. We love our fun and fancy free non-shoes!

From the Expression Fiber Arts website:
Bohemian Barefoot Sandals – Free Crochet Pattern
Yarn: Basic cream worsted weight cotton (didn’t have the brand name, it was just a cone of yarn and it only takes a wee bit. Not very many yards at all.)
Hook: H/8 – 5.00mm
-Ch 11, join with a sl st in the first ch to form a ring.
-Ch 4, 2 dc in 3rd chain from hook. Turn.
-Ch 2. Dc in same st as the ch 2 is coming from and in each dc across. Dc in ch 2 from previous round. So you’ve just increased 1 st. Turn.
-Repeat that last row 3 x more for a small woman’s foot. Repeat as many times as needed for a larger foot, until it nearly reaches the ankle.
-Ch 100. Tie off.
-Attach yarn to other point of triangle and chain 100.
-Weave in all ends. Wrap around foot and enjoy looking earthy and chic!
Make a second one. Or you can run around with only one foot adorned. HE HE! It’s up to you. Matters not to me!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Happy birthday! I love walking barefoot, but only do it in the countryside as I’m scared of stepping on glass or having my feet trodden on by heavy, shoe-wearing fellow travellers.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  August 6, 2013

      Hahahaha! Those ARE concerns! Luckily, for the most part, I walk in nice areas with sidewalks that don’t have broken glass, but I do prefer the soft grass at the park, or in my own backyard :)

      Reply
  2. Happy birthday ! :) great idea for the barefoot sandals! I hope you continue working on your happiness and living the life you aspire to live<3 there's nothing better than going to sleep knowing that you are who you WANT to be, not what OTHERS want you to be! :)

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  August 7, 2013

      Thanks! That’s it exactly! It’s so freeing and relaxing, I’m much happier living my life for me, and not to please the judgmental folks around me :)

      Reply
      • That’s so inspiring! :) if you can do it, so can I! Thank you for that<3 I look forward to reading more of your posts!

  3. happycat13

     /  September 2, 2013

    Happy B-day! Enjoy life! Dr. Suess said it best, “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” :D

    Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

