Saving Water

In our last apartment the water heater was directly behind the shower, quick hot water when needed. In this old house we are renting, the water heater is out in the garage, long pipelines away from the bathroom. It takes at least five minutes, or longer, of running the shower full blast to get warm water, and it’s painful to me, watching all that potable water go down the drain simply because it’s too cold to comfortably shower in.

I was wishing that I could get all that water out to the parched garden somehow, when Necessity (the mother of invention) hit me over the head and said DUH! Use buckets! I hopped on craigslist and found a couple food grade buckets for a $1 each only a two mile walk away. So of course I sent my hubby on down to pick them up. They arrived plastered in a tomato based sauce, which my patient hubby scrubbed off, and now this week, they are finally ready for use!! YAY!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I understand your renting but there is a thing you can buy that is a hot water recirculating system. It installs on top of the hot water heater, you plug it in, then you install this loop fixture at the furthest faucet. Hot water recirculates in the pipes constantly and comes out as soon as you turn on the hot water. It claims to save 15000 gallons of water a year. I’m thinking about it myself now that I have a teenager. I think the company is Watts and they sell them at Home Depot. I think it’s around $200. Might be worth it if you can take it with you when you are done renting.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  July 25, 2013

      I’ve heard of something similar, but I thought there was more to installing it, so I’ll definitely have to look into this!! Thanks for the tip! :D

      Reply
  2. You could buy a funnel and hose system and run the water out your window to the buckets so you don’t have to haul them around so much. (I hate hauling water buckets.) Or better yet to something like a rain barrel to catch every drop!

    Reply

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

