Square 1: The Green Mermaid

When I was looking for designs to embroidery on my reusable bags I saw these amazing drawings of mermaids by Sweet November Stamps, at C.C. Designs, and I immediately thought Beach Picnic Blanket!! I resized the drawings to fill a page, traced and ironed them onto quilt blocks, and took them with me on the train to do full color embroidery, I just could not help myself, I completely fell in love with these whimsical friends.

I’m planning one a week, each with a different color theme, and the first week I of course had to do my favorite color, green!

The Green Mermaid

20130719 - Mermaids green

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Rene

     /  July 19, 2013

    So cute! Your bags are going to look awesome. Are you using split stitch? Your lines look very precisely and evenly stitched.

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  July 19, 2013

      Thanks! I’m hoping all the mermaids turn out good :)

      I’m using what I think is called a running stitch…or maybe an outline stitch? it’s the one I learned when I was five, and if anyone told me what it’s named I don’t remember, lol :D

      I’m STILL in LOVE with the birds you did, I keep clicking on the link to you blog and feasting my eyes on such inspiring hand work! Can’t wait to see more of your projects!!

      Reply
      • woodlandrealm10

         /  July 19, 2013

        AH-HA! After watching a few you tube videos I figured out that I’m doing an outline stitch. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vCl3NZF3qw Also, I changed the picture of the green mermaid so it’s clickable and able zoom in on the stitching :)

        Have a wonderful weekend!!!

      • Rene

         /  July 19, 2013

        Thank you so much!

        Whatever the name of the stitch you’re using, the end result is great. I look forward to seeing more mermaids–I love the colors you chose. :)

      • Rene

         /  July 19, 2013

        Thanks for making it zoom-able! Yep, looks like outline stitch to me. :) Hope your weekend is great, too. :)

  1. Square 2: The Red Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy
  2. Square 3: The Blue Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy
  3. Square 4: The Purple Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy
  4. Square 5: The Orange Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy
  5. Square 6: The Elegant Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy
  6. Square 7: The Yellow Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy
  7. Square 8: The Coral Pink Mermaid | Grow Sew Happy

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

