Greener Essays – Part 1 – The Beginning

When we first started learning more about the world, for example what is wrong with the food or how dangerous plastic is, my mind was whirling. I decided to type out everything in my own words, which became these ‘essays’, which I scrapbooked and included in our family photo album to chart the changes we were making in our life.
Since I’m on vacation this week with my in-laws, I thought it would be a good time to post all my essays from last year, showing what we learned, and how we’ve shaped our lives around this information to be the people we are this year.
 
So here is Part One of the Six Part series…

The Beginning, June 2012
For years a few knowledgeable people tried desperately to spread the word about what is going on in our nation, they have been derisively called all sorts of names from Tree Huggers and Liberals, to Lunatics and Alarmists… …I’ve always been more concerned about nature than most people around me, and when we moved to Oregon I found out there are other people like me! I signed up for renewable energy with the electric company, put bumper stickers on my car, and called it good. Little did I know, that I was aware of less than a tenth of what was actually happening to pollute the earth!! It all started when I watched “Bag It”, a documentary on plastic bags. Looking back, I don’t know why I’d requested the movie from the library, it almost seems like fate now, because this movie has changed the course of our life. I began to watch it alone while embroidering, and then I realized that Jared needed to see this too, I gathered everyone in the front room, and re-started it from the beginning. Jared and I were shocked, Meg was visibly upset, and practically cried at the plight of the ocean animals, we’d all had no idea what plastic was doing to our ecosystem all over the world! We were severely shaken and upset, and it prompted more research, book after book, movie after movie, we soaked in what we should already have known, what everyone should know if they were not so preoccupied, the bubble we’d been living in burst, and we stepped out with clear eyes to see the world around us. Now we saw the trash washed up in the seaweed, now we saw the animal feedlots, now we saw everything – we’d seen it before with our eyes, but not with our mind. Our poor minds – reeling with all this new found knowledge that we could not go back to ignoring. Not that we wanted to ignore it, but what to do? We didn’t have an army of reusable bags to take to the store, we still needed to eat food, plastic pervaded our house like a disease, and like all Americans we’d been so carelessly comfortable living a consumer’s lifestyle, and we didn’t know how to change. So, we did yet MORE research, now not on the problems of the world, but what others were doing to fix them, starting in the home. We listed all the things we needed to change in our home and life, ordered them by importance, and each month tackled a new project. And of course, we started with plastic.

Plastic:
Bag It 2010
Plastic Planet 2009
Plastic-free : how I kicked the plastic habit
-by Beth Terry
Water:
Tapped (Director Stephanie Soechtig) 2009
Blue Gold: World Water Wars 2009
Flow: For Love of Water 2008
Oil vs Sustainable:
Who Killed the Electric Car? 2006
Revenge of the Electric Car 2011
Sustainable Living and Food:
Hungry For Change 2012
Forks over Knives 2011
Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead 2010
What Are the Bees Telling Us? 2010
Dirt! The Movie 2009
Food Fight 2009
Food, Inc. 2008
Food Matters 2008
Fresh (Director Ana Sofia Joanes) 2009
No Impact Man: The Documentary 2009
Fed Up! (Director Angelo Sacerdote) 2002
50 secrets of the world’s longest living people
-by Sally Beare
How organic farming can heal our planet
-by Maria Rodale
Made from scratch
-by Jenna Woginrich
Making it : radical home Ec for a post-consumer world
-by Kelly Coyne
How to sew a button : and other nifty things your grandmother knew
-by Erin Bried
Animal, vegetable, miracle : a year of food life
-by Barbara Kingsolver
Greenhorns : the next generation of American farmers
-by DeDe Lahman

The Scrapbook Pages:

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

