Raw Til 4, with a goal of health!

In response to a question from a blogger last week about changing how we eat, I thought I’d do an in depth update on my progress of healthful eating. My plan is to one day go completely raw, the steps I’m taking now, like cutting out meat, dairy, and gluten, this feels right, yet some people I’ve talked to say these measures are extreme, which reminds me of part of the documentary Forks over Knives, when a doctor who advocates a plant based diet is talking about other doctors’ approach to it… here is the quote:
“[Change of diet,] to most doctors is unreasonable, too much to ask of a women to ask her to change to oatmeal and hash brown potatoes and bean burritos and minestrone soup. But what will women do to keep their breasts and to stay alive?
-Women will check their breasts every day and worry about the results.
-Women will go to a doctor every year and have that male doctor check her breasts.
-Women will have their breasts squeezed between mammogram steel jaws.
To prevent breast cancer – that’s what women will do.
-And women will go so far as to have cuts in their breast made, called biopsies.
-They’ll have big chucks of their breast taken out.
-They’ll have the whole breast amputated.
-They’ll have the nodes taken out of the breast on that side.
-They will have radiation to their skin and chest, which will increase the risk of dying of heart disease.
-They will take anti-estrogen drugs.
-And they will take chemotherapy that will make their hair fall out, and make them throw up for a year.
But [according to doctors] they won’t eat bean soup, that’s too much to ask.”

Food is more and more being proven to be the cause of cancer and diabetes, food is not the whole answer, but a HUGE part of prevention and treatment. And to that end I’ve decided to stop eating the customary american processed foods, I’ve decided to live. It’s been a crazy hard process over the last six months, lots of trial and error and backsliding. But I’ve fallen into a good system that I heard of called Raw Til 4. The details are in the pic below, and I’m not perfect at it, I have not lost much weight yet, but I feel so much better. We still miss and long for the rubbish food we grew up with, yet when we backslide and eat it, we don’t feel as energized and happy as we do with vegan food. So sometimes we have ‘vegan junk food’ along with our raw til 4 plan, because even splurging on salty processed corn tortilla chips with fresh salsa, or having the occasional cooked vegan lunch, are better than what I was eating, but right now, this week, this month, it’s not about weight loss, it’s about getting through withdrawal and detox. So I feel that the people on this path, including me, need and are allowed to use every crutch that we can to reach our goal of health.

Recommended Watching:
Fork over Knives (get from the library or Netflix)
Hungry for Change (get from the library or Netflix)
Simply Raw – Reversing Diabetes in 30 Days (whole movie is on YouTube)
Even just search “Vegan Raw” on YouTube to get lots of encouragement and advice

Recommended Reading:
The 80/10/10 Diet: Balancing Your Health, by Douglas N. Graham
Wheat Belly, by William Davis
Raw Awakening, by Kristen Suzanne
Get Naked Fast!: A Guide to Stripping Away the Foods, by Diana Stobo
50 Secrets of the World’s Longest Living People, by Sally Beare

Recommended Sites & Blogs:
30 Bananas a Day
The Rawtarian
Clean Eating Chelsey
All This Joy

If we are at all interested in living longer and living happier, then we have to concede that food is only a temporary happiness. I’m ready to only eat to live, to have energy for more projects and fun!

Below is our take on Raw til 4, this exact picture is up on our fridge as a reminder.
For more information on Raw Till 4, watch this quick video: How to eat raw food till dinner

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ohhh this is a good idea to start! Thank you for thinking of me! It’s a good way to ease myself into it. Your post is poignant in other ways too – I’m brca1 positive, facing a shed load of surgeries this year and I’m starting to freak out. I’ve been trying to eat better and exercise more to help my recovery time but what you’re suggesting might be the way to go. I’ll still have my normal evening meal but my body can only benefit from raw food the rest of the time. Thank you!

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  June 28, 2013

      I’m sorry to hear about your coming surgeries, that so sucks! I don’t have anything so severe on my horizon yet, but my food allergies are all getting worse, along with arthritis, and a myriad of digestive problems, and I’m not even 30 yet! The raw til 4 relieves ALL of that, crazy though it sounds, just changing what I eat makes me feel my age, so I’m definitely really happy that I could pass on this good info, this program has been working for me and my family over the last month or more, and if you have any questions don’t hesitate to email me and I’ll answer what I can! :) oh, and be sure to watch the video where I heard about it, the video explains it best!

      Reply
  1. 80/10/10 by Douglas Graham | Grow Sew Happy
  2. Raw Lunch Ideas | Grow Sew Happy

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

