Pasta Night…Raw?

At the beginning of the year when I first started really committing to transitioning to vegan, and vegan raw, I got a whole stack of about forty cookbooks from the library. That is the reason that I can’t quite remember which cookbook this recipe came from, but it’s one of my favorite gourmet raw recipes over the last few months and so far! For the most part I’ve fallen into eating mono meals, just a whole bunch of one fruit or other, however when I’m in the mood for something more decedent, I make this completely delicious raw meal:

Zucchini Pasta with Avocado Sauce

Noodles:
4-6 Large Zucchini spiralized into thin noodles

Sauce:
1 Ripe Avocado, pitted and halved
1/2 medium zucchini, coarsely chopped
2-3 garlic cloves, minced
2-3 sprigs fresh tarragon, removed from stems, save some for garnish
1 lemon, juiced
Salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup water, as needed

1. Spiral the zucchini into thin noodles. (this is the one I bought: Veggie Spiraler)
2. Toss all sauce ingredients into a high-speed blender, adding up to 1/4 cup water as necessary to facilitate blending. Blend until smooth and creamy!
3. Add sauce to noodles, toss to coat evenly, and enjoy!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I have long thought about eating this way but it scares me – will I get withdrawal from all the other processed rubbish I eat? Will I miss meat? The biggest issue is the cost, though. Have you found it expensive?

    Reply
    • woodlandrealm10

       /  June 22, 2013

      I have noticed it’s a little more expensive, but if you shop at the cheaper stores, it’s not too bad. The worst part is detox and withdrawal, I tried to go from eating crap strait to raw, and it was disaster, so my only tip is to take is slow, and take away one food group at time. First I quit meat, it was a little hard, but the less I ate it, the less I wanted it. Dairy was next, I’ve never been a big milk drinker, but I’m all about cheese, so that was several days of torture. The good thing is that you feel so much better with each crap thing you take out of your life! I recommend it to ANYONE! Good Luck!

      Reply
  1. More Noodles and Avocado Sauce | Grow Sew Happy

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

