Food as Drugs

I feel sick today, I knew that I would because of what I ate yesterday. If you are allergic to peanuts, you just don’t eat them, however if you are allergic to dairy and grain, it’s much more complicated than simply avoiding them. I always thought I was just weak willed, and while that still may be true, scientists are now increasingly seeing signs that suggest there may be an additional contributor: food addiction. Some foods trigger the body to release neurological chemicals similar to pharmaceutical drugs like Valium.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve begun to slip back into my old habits, one donut for breakfast can’t hurt, a cheese pizza over the weekend is a fun treat, but as my body gets more of the addictive foods… it wants more, suddenly I’m craving waffles, and fried chicken, nachos, fettuccine alfredo‎, mac&cheese, and the list goes on… these are things I was not even thinking about during the weeks that I’ve been able to maintain eating raw, or at least vegan, but as soon as I slip, it’s an invitation for cravings, and my detox symptoms start over, it’s a viscous cycle.

So what I’m trying to learn, and hope also helps you, is to look at food choices through the light of addiction, some days are better than others, and when I cave in to a grilled cheese sandwich, I try not to beat myself up about it, I’ll try to do better tomorrow…
like Dory says “Just keep swimming! Just keep swimming!

Dory!

Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

