Household Energy Usage

I love our electric company, PGE! Not only do they offer renewable resources, they keep track of the energy you use AND give you access to the data! I’m super vigilant, constantly guarding against wasting electricity, making sure that lights are turned off if not in use, but also that electronics are unplugged, power strips are turned off, and that lights are not turned on if sunlight is available, there is even a window in the bathroom of our new house, so I don’t have to turn on the light, yay! I’m sure my daughters are tired of hearing some version of “Why is that light on?? Quick go turn it off, right now you are spending money!! We don’t have money to waste on light you are not using!” But I’m getting it pounded into their heads, and it seems to be taking.

Even still, even with all these measures effectively in place, some days we were reaching 40 or 45 killawatts a day! Yikes! Until our huge brawny computer tower broke down… I had previously noticed that on the days the computer is run a long time we spend more on electricity, and had been considering replacing it with a laptop to conserve energy… and here was the perfect time to try out my theory. Instead of buying another tower computer, we got a little Samsung laptop, and wow the difference!!! Here is our last billing period, check out this chart!! This definitive proof shows that it was the tower computer thwarting my energy saving plan this whole time! I love our new little money saving laptop!

Our Energy Use Last Billing Period


So the point of my rambling today, is that I was fairly certain my culprit was the computer tower, but if you are not sure what is sucking the energy in your house, I’d suggest getting an energy reader, you can buy one to keep on hand to test new purchases, or borrow one from the library! It’s worth it even, for example, just to see which fan/heaters suck up the most energy and then put into use the one that costs you less money. Good Luck!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Please comment, I'd love to hear from you!

